Northchapel, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Chapel, Sussex)

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Northchapel, Sussex
Northchapel St Michael and All Angels West Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORTHCHAPEL (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (N. by W.) from Petworth.[1]


A history of the Church may be found North Chapel St John the Baptist The present church of St Michael replaced this earlier church in 1878 and an interim church dated from 1833 which retained the tower. Further detail may be found at Northchapel Wikipedia

The parish Church of St Michael has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Northchapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Northchapel, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Northchapel, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1716-1837


PRTS 1716-1901
1716-1901
1716-1901

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 423-433. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 14:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,029 times.