North Collins, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Erie CountyGotoarrow.pngTown of North Collins

Contents

Resources

Church Records

History

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of North Collins, NY

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

North Collins Library
2095 School Street
North Collins, NY 14111
Phone: 716-337-3211

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

Museums

Schoolhouse #8
History Center & Museum
2101 School Street
North Collins, NY 14111
Phone: (716) 337-3341
Tour Information: ahs2759@peoplepc.com
Historical Questions: ggbowman@msn.com

Societies

North Collins Historical Society
2021 Center Street
PO Box 32
North Collins, NY 14111
Phone: 716-337-2702
Brief History

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk

Town of North Collins, Clerk
2051 Spruce Street (physical address)
PO Box 2 (mailing address)
North Collins, NY 14111
Phone: 716-337-3391
Email: orrangem@juno.com

Town and Village Historian

Georgianne Bowman[1]
2093 Shirley Road
PO Box 32
North Collins, NY 14111
Phone: 716-337-2702
Email: ggbowman@msn.com

Town/ Village Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for North Collins, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.



Vital Records

References

  1. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 405. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2012, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 927 times.