North DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North_Dakota

Guide to North Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

News and Events


Topics



Join the Wiki Team
Become a State Moderator.

Welcome to North Dakota, Peace Garden State

North-dakota.png
North Dakota flag.png


Most overseas immigrants to North Dakota came through the port of New York or other east coast ports. The Family History Library and the National Archives have U.S. passenger lists or indexes for the years 1820 to 1943, and for Canadian ports, 1865 to 1900.

   How to Find Information about North Dakota Ancestors
 

1. Birth Information
2. Marriage Information
3. Death Information

Featured Content

North Dakota's naturalization records (1873-1952) are indexed at the North Dakota State Archives and Historical Research Library of the State Historical Society of North Dakota. These records represent the bulk of documentation pertaining to immigration and naturalization proceedings in the state, but not those individuals who were naturalized in federal court.

Did You Know?

  • A notable genealogical collection is the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) Collection. This mixed collection includes transcripts of cemetery records, church records, genealogies, marriages, deaths, and wills from 3 counties—Barnes, Burleigh, and Towner. Read more...

Counties

Divide CountyBurke CountyRenville CountyBottineau CountyRolette CountyTowner CountyCavalier CountyPembina CountyWilliams CountyMountrail CountyWard CountyMcHenry CountyPierce CountyBenson CountyRamsey CountyWalsh CountyMcKenzie CountyDunn CountyMercer CountyOliver CountyMcLean CountySheridan CountyWells CountyEddy CountyFoster CountyNelson CountyGrand Forks CountyGriggs CountySteele CountyTrail CountyGolden Valley CountyBillings CountyStark CountyMorton CountyBurleigh CountyKidder CountyStutsman CountyBarnes CountyCass CountySlope CountyHettinger CountyGrant CountyBowman CountyAdams CountySioux CountyEmmons CountyLogan CountyMcIntosh CountyLaMoure CountyDickey CountyRansom CountySargent CountyRichland CountyNorth-dakota-county-map.gif

Extinct or Renamed Counties:
Allred | Buffalo | Buford | Burbank | Chippewa | Church | De Smet | Flanery | French | Garfield | Gingras | Howard | Kittson | Sheyenne | Stevens | Villard | Wallace | Wallette | Wynn

Major Repositories

North Dakota State Archives · Library of North Dakota · North Dakota State Univeristy Libraries · National Archives Rocky Mountain Region (Denver) · Family History Library

Migration Routes

Missouri River · Red River of the North · Great Northern Railway (U.S.) · Northern Pacific Railroad

  • Search the Department of Health's free online death index
  • Find which county a town is in, what town a cemetery is in, even where a postoffice or building is by using the 's Geographical Names Information System.
  • David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
  • The North Dakota GenWeb has a wealth of information and is a part of the larger project. The Project provides internet information on every county in every state in the .
  • [1] largely duplicates these Wiki pages. Includes some bibliographic lists from Library, 2001.

Obtain additional help

Things You Can Do

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 November 2014, at 03:07.
  • This page has been accessed 12,788 times.