North Elk Parish, MarylandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Maryland  Gotoarrow.png  North Elk Parish

Contents

History

North Elk Parish has served Cecil County. Also known as St. Mary Anne's Church.[1] A chapel of ease, located near Port Deposit, served parishioners in that part of the parish.[2]

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

The chapel of ease near Port Deposit includes a cemetery.

Parish History

Parish Records

The original parish registers are kept at the Maryland Historical Society. Copies: FHL Film 13887 Item 2. A handwritten index is also available there: FHL Film 13887 Item 1. Abstracts:

  • Peden, Henry C., Jr. Early Anglican Church Records of Cecil County, Maryland. Westminster, Md.: Willow Bend Books, 1990. FHL Book 975.238 K28p

Christenings from 1729-1799 have been indexed: FHL Film 1002752 Item 5

Marriages from 1729-1799 have been indexed: FHL Film 882995 Item 17

Websites

References

  1. St. Mary Anne's Church, The Historical Marker Database, accessed 7 March 2011.
  2. Site of Chapel-of-Ease, The Historical Marker Database, accessed 7 March 2011.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 March 2011, at 22:56.
  • This page has been accessed 872 times.