North Leverton with Apesthorpe, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to North Leverton with Apesthorpe, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|North Leverton with Apesthorpe, Nottinghamshire|
North Leverton St Martin Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1669|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673; Separate records exist for Habblesthorpe beginning 1636|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Apesthorpe|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
LEVERTON, NORTH (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5¼ miles (E. by N.) from East Retford. The parish is situated on the river Trent, which here separates the counties of Nottingham and Lincoln. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
APPLESTHORPE, or Apesthorpe (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (N. by E.) from East Retford. The church has been more than a century in ruins, and the inhabitants attend that at North Leverton: there is, however, a burial-ground, which was inclosed in 1833.
North Leverton cum Habblesthorpe is an Ecclesiastical parish which includes the hamlet of Coates. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour on the opposite bank of the River Trent Marton, Lincolnshire
Southwell and Nottingham Church history project have researched the history of the church North Leverton St Martin
The church of St Martin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
North Leverton with Habblesthorpe can be found under Applethorpe and Leverton, North.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
North Leverton with Apesthorpe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|North Leverton with Apesthorpe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1669-1988 Marriages 1669-1993 Burials 1669-1938 Bishop's Transcripts 1673-1861
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Leverton, North with Apesthorpe
North Leverton. A transcription of memorial inscriptions dating from 1755, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Original in Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/23, and transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 18, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England], (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 19:28.
- This page has been accessed 1,242 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News