North Luffenham, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.png Rutland Parishes

Guide to North Luffenham, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Luffenham, Rutland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wrangdike
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Uppingham PLU
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office


Contents

Parish History

LUFFENHAM, NORTH (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Uppingham, hundred of Wrandike, county of Rutland, 6 miles (S. W. by W.)from Stamford. [1]

The Victoria County History of North Luffenham (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Luffenham, Rutland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
NORTH LUFFENHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1565-1837

FREG 1571-1639,
1748-1812
1565-1596 1565-1812
IGI 1572-1812 1565-1832
PALL
1790-1832

TGEN 1572-1812
1565-1832
1565-1812

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Diocese of Peterborough : North Luffenham Bap 1572 - 1869 Marr 1572 - 1837 (Banns to1967) Bur 1572 - 1923

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation records

1524
  • Original held at TNA[7]; Microfilm: FHL Collection 2228721; Publication:
    • Cornwall, J. The County Community Under Henry VIII: The Military Survey, 1522, and the Lay Subsidy, 1524-5, for Rutland. Oakham, England: Rutland Record Society, 1980. FHL Collection 942.545 R4c (see page [#] for North Luffenham)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.
  7. Ref. E179/165/110 rot 2, m 1 (Wrangdyke Hundred, North Luffenham), E 179 Database: Records Relating to Lay and Clerical Taxation, The National Archives.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,290 times.