North Meols, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to North Meols, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is a List of Chapelries in North Meols Parish

North Meols, Lancashire
North Meols St Cuthberts Church, Churchtown, Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Meols
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MEOLS, NORTH (St Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Ormskirk, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 9½ miles north by northwest of Ormskirk, containing, also the township of Birkdale. The township of North Meols contains the modern and rising bathing-place of Southport, and the villages or hamlets of Churchtown, Marshside, Crossens, Banks, and others. The church stands in Churchtown. There are three additional churches within the parish; two at Southport, and one at Crossens. Other places in the parish include: Banks, Birkdale, Churchtown, Hawside, Southaws, Higher Blowick, Little London, Marshside, Rowe Lane, and High and Lower Blowick. The Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists also have places of worship at Churchtown.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Online Records

North Meols St. Cuthbert parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
NORTH MEOLS ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1594) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1594-1838 1602-1837 None
LOPC 1594-1835 1600-1921 1732-1911
LBMD None 1837-2010 None 
AC  1594-1837 1594-1837 1594-1837
BANKS ST STEPHEN'S Chapelry (1878) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None  None
LBMD None None None
BIRKDALE ST JAMES Chapelry (1857) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1857-1897 1857-1900 None
LOPC 1857-1897 1857-1900 None
LBMD None 1857-2010 None
CROSSENS ST JOHN Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1848-1892 None None
LOPC 1833-1905 1845-1960 1834-1989
LBMD None 1839-1974 None 
SOUTHPORT CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1824) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1824-1839 None 1822-1839
LBMD None 1837-2010 None
SOUTHPORT HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1837-1879 1838-1879 1838-1887
LBMD None 1838-2010 None
SOUTHPORT ST LUKE Chapelry (1883) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1883-1912 1883-1904 None
LBMD None 1883-2010 None
SOUTHPORT ST PAUL Chapelry (1864) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1864-1915 1864-1881, 1894-1909 None
LBMD None 1888-2009 None


Original Records
North Meols Parish original parish registers exist at the Cumbria Record Office, .

For original registers of above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

In addition, microfilmed copies of North Meols' original registers are accessible for searching via the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A and/or for ordering to any of its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306902.

Genealogy

Waring of North Meols and Ulnes Walton by Dempsey, Margaret.  Family History and Pedigree chart of John Waring and Betty Blundell and their descendants, dating from 1760-1980.  Article to be found in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 7, no 4. pages 23-26, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r vol. 7

Poor Law Unions

Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

North Meols (Southport) Family History Society

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 291-295. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 July 2014, at 16:41.
  • This page has been accessed 4,093 times.