North Mundham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to North Mundham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Mundham, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Box and Stockbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MUNDHAM (North), a village and a parish in West-Hampnett district, Sussex. The village stands on the Arundel and Portsmouth canal, two miles South East by South of Chichester railway station; and has a post-office under Chichester. The parish contains also the hamlets of Fisher and Runckton.[1]


North Mundham is a village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex North Mundham Wikipedia. North Mundham St Stephen is an extensive Ancient Parish which included Runckton and Fisher.

Sussex Parish Churches history of the church North Mundham St Stephen

The parish church of Saint Stepehn North Mundham has been designated asa grade II* listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) North Mundham

See List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

North Mundham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
North Mundham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1557-1928
1559-1909
1557-1909


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Mundham, North

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Protestation Returns

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) database has 65 entries in the 1641 Protestation returns for this parish.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/NorthMundham/

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 28 May 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:34.
  • This page has been accessed 871 times.