North Petherwin, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to North Petherwin, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Petherwin, Cornwall
NorthPetherwin St Padern Cornwall.jpg
NorthPetherwin St Padern Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Cornwall & Devon
Poor Law Union Launceston PLU
Registration District Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PETHERWIN (North), a village and a parish in the district of Launceston and county of Devon; and a sub-district mainly in Cornwall. The village stands near the boundary with Cornwall, 4½ miles N W of Launceston r.station; and has a post-office under Launceston. The parish contains also the hamlets of Brassacott, Helscott, and Maxworthy. There are two chapels for Wesleyans, two for Bible Christians, one for U. Free Methodist. [1]

North Petherwin (Cornish: Paderwynn Gledh) is an Ancient Parish and has transferred between the counties of Cornwall and Devon in history.Historically, the Dukes of Bedford have been major land owners in the parish. As well as the church town, settlements include Holscott, Brassacott, and Maxworthy.

The parish is currently administratively part of Cornwall.

The parish church is dedicated to St Paternus (see also South Petherwin) and is unusually grand for a small village church. It was described in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850 as: ... an ancient structure, with a tower and five bells... (containing)... memorials of the Yeo and other families. The north aisle is Norman and the south Perpendicular and many of the windows, including those of the clerestory, are 13th century in style. There is some old woodwork including a communion rail dated 1685.

The modern parish is part of  the Egloskerry, North Petherwin, Tremaine and Tresmere, United Benefice in the diocese of Truro.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Although historically part of Devon North Petherwin has been part of Launceston registration District since 1837.

Church records

North Petherwin, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3][4][5]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
North Petherwin, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1753-1900
1653-1913
1672-1864
FMP 1653-1838 1611-1837 1813-1837
FS PRs 1849-1898 (banns)
TGEN 1727-1842


Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 167

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241273.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Union

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

North Petherwin in GENUKI

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,360 times.