YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Riding of Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire

Guide to Yorkshire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Yorkshire Rose, flag of Yorkshire
Location of Yorkshire in England

Contents

Introduction

Yorkshire (abbreviated Yorks) is an historic maritime county of northern England and the largest in the United Kingdom. Because of its great size in comparison to other English counties, functions were increasingly undertaken over time by its subdivisions called ridings.

Featured Content

Yorkshire has been ruled by Celts, Romans, Danes, Normans, and Britons, and has its own distinct culture which is celebrated by its citizens. Yorkshire is divided into “Ridings,” or smaller governmental divisions: North Riding of Yorkshire, West Riding of Yorkshire, and East Riding of Yorkshire. Genealogical and family records may refer to Yorkshire as a whole, or to one particular Riding.

The spoken language in Yorkshire is a dialect of English known as Tyke, and dialects differ between ridings and even from village to village, though in modern times the differences between localities has become less pronounced. This does not generally affect civil or parish records, though it may affect family histories and other informal documents.

The geography of Yorkshire has also influenced its people. Yorkshire is a very green county, with coastal areas, hills, valleys, and forests. The North York Moors and the Yorkshire Dales figure prominently into the landscape, and provide large areas of wilderness through the north and west portions of the county.

Jurisdictions

To determine the various jurisdictions of a place-name in Yorkshire, the use of this interactive map to find each jurisdiction will be helpful.

Civil Districts

When civil (government) registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Yorkshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click on a link to see lists of the civil districts in North, East, and West Yorkshire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.

Parishes

There are 1,402 parishes in Yorkshire. FamilySearch, formerly The Genealogy Society of Utah has filmed 741 of mostly original Church of England parish registers or 53%, before 1900. Ancestry has digitized West Riding parish registers. findmypast has digitized North and East Riding parish registers.

Here is a list of the parishes in Yorkshire with links to articles:

If you do not know which riding your parish is in, go to the alphabetical lists of all of the parishes by clicking on one of the following.

A-I
K-R
S-Y

Probates

Before 1858, every town and parish in Yorkshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To see a list of Yorkshire places and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Yorkshire Probate Records.

Research tools

Here's an outstanding interactive Jurisdictions Map which provides an amazing perspective while researching in Yorkshire and its parishes.

Websites

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

England, Yorkshire, Allertonshire, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

To view an excellent list of web sites and/or web pages for Yorkshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Yorkshire


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 290,159 times.