North Rode, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to North Rode, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Rode, Cheshire
North Rode St Michael.jpg
North Rode St Michael
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RODE (North) is a township-chapelry in Prestbury parish, Cheshire; on the river Dane, and on the North Staffordshire railway, at the junction of the Churnet Valley railway, it is 4¾ miles S by W of Macclesfield. The church was built in 1846.[1]

North Rode St. Michael's became a parish Including the hamlets of Ethels Green and Rode Heath. It was created within the Ancient parish of Prestbury, Cheshire, The church in North Rode was built in 1845 by C. & J. Trubshaw.

BIGOT held many estates before it passed into the hands of the lords of Aldford.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

North Rode St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
North Rode St Michael Parish (1820) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1820-1865
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1846-1889
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1886-1889
  NONE

North Rode, St. Michael (C of E). The parish church for North Rode since 1846. Registers of Baptisms and Burials 1846–2004 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Later registers (including Marriages from 1846) are still at the church.

Bishop's Transcripts Chapelry (later a parish) in Prestbury parish. Cheshire Record Office Reference: EDB 159  Baptisms, 1846-1847, burials, 1846, baptisms, burials, 1847-1848, baptisms, 1849-1850, burials, 1849-1853, baptisms, 1851-1853, burials, 1854-1861, baptisms, 1854-1861, baptisms, burials, 1879-1889. FHL BRITISH Film 1647668 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)
     Registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

North Rode on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 21:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,483 times.