North Sassafras Parish, MarylandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Maryland  Gotoarrow.png  North Sassafras Parish

Contents

History

North Sassafras Parish has served Cecil County. The saints dedication is St. Stephen. St. Augustine's Church, originally called Mannour Chapel (also spelled Manor Chapel), served parishioners as a chapel of ease.[1]

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

Parish History

  • Lefevre, Effie DeCoursey. The Manor Chapel or St. Augustine Church: St. Augustine Parish, Cecil County, Maryland; An Historical Sketch. Easton, Md.: n.p., 1932. FHL Book 975.2 A1 no. 109

Parish Records

The original parish registers are kept at the Maryland Historical Society. Copies (1695-1817): FHL Film 441446 Item 1. A handwritten index is also available at the Maryland Historical Society. Copy: FHL Film 13887 Item 3

The records have been abstracted multiple times:

  • Bell, Annie W.B. St. Stephen's Parish Register, Cecil County, 1687-1837. 2 vols. Annapolis, Md.: A.W. Burns, [1939?]. FHL Film 1550149
  • Harrison, Lucy H. Marriages, Births and Deaths; St. Stephen's Parish, Cecil County, Md. 1687-1837. MSS., Maryland Historical Society. Copy: FHL Film 13887 Item 4
  • Harrison, Lucy H. Records of St. Stephen's Church, North Sassafras Parish, Cecil County, Md. MSS., Maryland Historical Society. Copy: FHL Film 13887 Item 5
  • Peden, Henry C., Jr. Early Anglican Church Records of Cecil County, Maryland. Westminster, Md.: Willow Bend Books, 1990. FHL Book 975.238 K28p

Christenings for the years 1688 to 1837 have been indexed on the International Genealogical Index. Printouts: FHL Film 1002777 Item 1

Marriages for the years 1695 to 1837 have been indexed on the International Genealogical Index. Printouts: FHL Film 1205001 Item 26; FHL Fiche 6901010.

Websites

References

  1. St. Augustine's Church, The Historical Marker Database, accessed 7 March 2011.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 March 2011, at 22:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,278 times.