North Walsham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes
North Walsham, Norfolk
Tower ruin.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tunstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WALSHAM, NORTH (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of Tunstead, E. division of Norfolk, 15 miles (N. N. E.) from Norwich, and 124 (N. E. by N.) from London. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Primitive Methodists. [1]

North Walsham St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

Resources

Church Records

North Walsham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
North Walsham, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1541-1837

FREG 1556-1900
1542-1900
1541-1900
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1557-1901 Undefined 1557-1901 Undefined 1557-1900
IGI 1556-1812 1541-1544, 1557-1681, 1695-1837
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 711

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438866.

Poor Law Unions

 Erpingham     http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/erpingham_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Erpingham 1837-1884
  • Smallburgh 1884-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: registration.nwalsham@norfolk.gov.uk

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 444-449. Date accessed: 30 April 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,083 times.