North Wootton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Parishes

Guide to North Wootton, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Wootton, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Glaston-Twelve-Hides
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wells PLU
Registration District Wells
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of North Wootton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOOTTON, NORTH, a parish, in the poor-law union of Wells, hundred of Glaston-Twelve-Hides, E. division of Somerset, 4 miles (W. S. W.) from Shepton-Mallet.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Wootton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
North Wootton, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1565-1887
1569-1912
1566-1783, 1813-1903
MARR
1613-1636

NBI

1608-1903
SOPC 1565-1887
1569-1911
1566-1903

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/NorthWootton/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 670-673. Date accessed and adapted: 07 March 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 15:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,117 times.