Northam, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Northam, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Northam, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Northam, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shebbear
County Devon
Poor Law Union Bideford
Registration District Bideford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartland
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

NORTHAM (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Bideford, hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 1½ mile (N. by W.) from Bideford. This parish, which is bounded by the Bristol Channel on the west, and by the navigable river Torridge on the east, includes the small sea-port of Appledore, and comprises by admeasurement 2500 acres. A chapel has been erected at Appledore. The Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Northam, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Northam, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


FREG 1653-1656

IGI 1538-1836

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241320.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Northam on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 423-433. Date accessed: 23 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 November 2015, at 00:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,054 times.