Northamptonshire Record OfficeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png Rutland Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Contact Information

Record Office Virtual Tour

E-mail: Please use the online Archive Service Enquiry Form
Address:

Northamptonshire Record Office
Wootton Hall Park
Northampton
NN4 8BQ
United Kingdom

Telephone:
Fax:

Hours and holidays: T-Th 9-5; Fri 9-4; 1st Sat of each month 9-4[1]

Directions, maps, and public transportation: accessible by car, bus, and taxi. For further details, see: How to find Northamptonshire Record Office.

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

  • Marriage Licence Card Index (mainly Northamptonshire and Rutland residents)
  • Parish registers and printed transcripts
  • Poor Law records
  • Wills

Tips

  • There are no entrance fees
  • CARN card is required for admission
  • An Archive Research Service is available for a fee
  • Digital cameras are permitted; cameras must be registered at the price of £5.50 per day or £15.00 per week
  • Laptops are permitted, but you must hire a circuit breaker for £2.00 per day, or £5.00 per week

Guides

Several guides to the record office's collections are available on their website:

  • Adoption records
  • Anglican parish registers
  • Black History
  • Cemetery records
  • Electoral registers
  • Non-Conformist registers
  • Police records
  • Poor Law unions - workhouses
  • Prison and Reform School records

Alternate Repositories

Similar Collections

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 'Opening times for the Northamptonshire Record Office,' Northamptonshire County Council, http://www.northamptonshire.gov.uk/en/councilservices/Community/archives/Pages/Openingtimes.aspx, accessed 19 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 February 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 725 times.