Northenden, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Northenden

Guide to Northenden, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Northenden, Cheshire
Northenden St Wilfrid contributor Keith Williamson.jpg
Northenden St Wilfrid contributor Keith Williamson.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

NORTHEN, or Northenden (St. Wilfrid), is a parish, in the union of Altrincham, hundred of Macclesfield, North division of the county of Chester; containing, with the tything of Northen-Etchells, it is 7 miles (S.) from Manchester. The parish is situated on the river Mersey.[1]

Northenden St. Wilfrid is an ancient parish in Cheshire including Etchells and Northen Etchells.
Norwordine (North clearing) may have been a Saxon settlement and the dedication to Saint Wilfrid the 8th century Bishop of York may suggest that he visitied the place. 

The first record of the village is in the Domesday Book (1086), in which the church is mentioned, though the manor is described as vasta ~ devastated.  

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241239.

Church records

Northenden St Wilfrid parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Northenden St Wilfrid Parish (1563) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1564-1812 1564-1812 1564-1812 1564-1812 1564-1812 1564-1812
AC 1813-1914 1813-1914 1813-1914 1813-1914 1813-1853 1813-1853
BIVRI 1831-1841, 1858-1873


FS BT'S 1608-1877
  NONE
1608-1843
  NONE
1608-1877
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin," click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Northen, 1561-1914 Northenden is most often called Northen. Manchester Archives Central Library call numbers: M 340/1/1/1-3, 5; M 340/1/2/2-3; M 340/1/4/1-4; M 340/1/5.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1561-1793. Baptisms and burials, 1794-1813. Baptisms, 1813-July 1850. BRITISH 2355965 Items 4 - 8
Baptisms, Apr. 1850-1914. Banns, 1754-1813, 1824-1900. Marriages, 1754-1900. Burials, 1813-1853. BRITISH 2355966
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1681-1853. BRITISH 477545

Bishop's transcripts of Northenden, 1608-1877

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in Family Search Historical records (formerly Record Search).

Northenden is referred to as Northen. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/158 Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1608, 1610, 1621, 1623, 1627-1629, 1631-1637, 1639-1641, 1663, 1667-1669, 1671-1684, 1708-1745, 1747-1792, 1794-1830. Burials, 1831. BRITISH 1836281
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1843. Baptisms, burials, 1844-1877. BRITISH 1836282 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  •  Northenden, St. Hilda (Roman Catholic). Built in 1901.
  •  Northenden, Gospel Mission Hall. Built in 1886.
  •  Northenden, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1828, rebuilt in 1886.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1936)
     Succeeded by Trafford,Macclesfield, Warrington and Manchester districts on abolition.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. 'Manchester, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1541-1812', Ancestry, accessed 25 August 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 October 2014, at 01:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,036 times.