Northern Territory, AustraliaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Australia Northern Territory
Guide to Northern Territory, Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
The Northern Territory was originally part of New South Wales. It was annexed to South Australia in 1863 then the Commonwealth assumed administration in 1911. The capital is Darwin.
Getting started with Northern Territory research
If your family or ancestors lived in the Northern Territory before 1863, you should also search records of New South Wales. If they lived in the Northern Territory between 1863 and 1911, you should also search records of South Australia. For information about the records of the Northern Territory, click on one of the topic links at the left.
Numerous articles are available on FamilySearch Wiki to help you get started in family history. This portal will provide links to articles about general research topics.Principles of Family History Research
- Identify What You Know
- Decide What You Want to Learn
- Select Records to Search
- Obtain and Search the Records
- Use the Information
Pickup, Albert. Pickup of Darwin, History and family tree of John Pickup and Hanna Eccles that lived in Lancashire, Rossendale, with a branch emigrating to Australia. The following surnames are also listed, Green, Shorrock, Biggs, Watson, Gregory, Watson, Cooper, Burry, Jepson, Entwhistle, Hawsworth, Gadfield, Hayes, Smith, English, Glover, Stevens, Sigge, and Walker, dating 1723-1953. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 6, no.2, pages 17-20, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r
- Melville Island
- Groote Eylandt
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
Interested in editing or adding to the Wiki? The Northern Territory page needs you! Here are some simple ways you can add information other researchers need!
- National Family History Week July 31st to August 8th 2010
Things You Can Do
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
- This page was last modified on 23 January 2015, at 16:46.
- This page has been accessed 1,879 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More