Northfleet, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Northfleet, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Northfleet, Kent
Northfleet St Botolph Kent.jpg
Northfleet St Botolph Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toltingtrough
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford PLU
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shorham; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Northfleet is a town in the Borough and district of Gravesham in Kent Northfleet Wikipedia

Northfleet St Botolph is an Ancient Parish which included the hamlets of Rosherville and Perry Street

The parish church of St Botolph, Church Path, Gravesend has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted & The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 302-318. Date accessed: 9 September 2013.

at British History Online and Kent Churches website


See Northfleet North West Kent Family History Society for Anglican parishes and other places of worship in Northfleet and Northfleet St Botolph

Perry Street All Saints was formed from this parish see Kent Churches website

The church of All Saints Perry Street Gravesend has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

The demolished church of Rosherville St Mark (1853-1976) was also formed from this parish Rosherville North West Kent Family History Society Rosherville Gardens were a local pleasure garden see Rosherville Gardens Wikipedia

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis--
NORTHFLEET (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Toltingtrough, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 1½ mile (W.) from Gravesend, and 20 miles (E.) from London. Nursted church being close to the village of Northfleet, and Northfleet church five miles distant, There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District North Aylesford Registration District

Strood Registration District

Strood and Hoo Registration District Chatham Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Northfleet, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[5]
Northfleet, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1837, 1871-1881
1813-1838

FREG 1539-1653, 1680-1704
1538-1648, 1680-1704
1539-1704
FS BTs 1813-1837 1813-1837 1813-1837
MED 1539-1955 1539-1955 1539-1955

Family History Library film numbers
Northfleet
From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Northfleet Perry Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Northfleet Perry Street Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1872-1873


MED 1871-1989 1871-1954

Northfleet All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Northfleet All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1871-1880

Census records

Census Returns for Northfleet 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

North Aylesford Poor Law Union, Kent (renamed Strood)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 423-433. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,145 times.