Norton, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Norton, Gloucestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  GloucestershireGotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Norton, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norton, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dudstone and King's Barton
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Gloucester PLU
Registration District Gloucester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gloucester
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the Upper division of the hundred of Dudstone and King's-Barton, union and E. division of the county of Gloucester,4 miles (N. E. by N.) from the city of Gloucester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church Records

Norton, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Norton, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1686-1812 1686-1812 1686-1753 1686-1753 1686-1812 1686-1812
JOIN

1604-1812


An extraction of the Bishop's Transcripts of this parish are available at http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~wrag44/norton/norton.htm

Census Records

Probate Records

Records of will, adminstrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court jurisdiction by parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visiual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 439-441. Date accessed: 31 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 18:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,504 times.