Norton Canes, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Norton Canes, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norton Canes, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Penkridge PLU
Registration District Penkridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rugeley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hansacre and Armitage
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORTON-UNDER-CANNOCK, or Norton-Canes, a village and a parish in Penkridge district, Stafford. The village stands adjacent to Watling-street, near the S side of Cannock Chase, 1¾ mile E by S of Wyrley r. station, 2¼ N W of the Wyrley and Essington canal, 2¾ W N W of Brownhills r. station, and 5¾ N of Walsall.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norton Canes parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NORTON CANES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1568-1882 1568-1882 1563-1885 1563-1885 1568-1887 1568-1887
FREG 1761-1902
1755-1901
1757-1906
FS 1659-1859
1659-1836


Non-Conformist Churches

Clayhanger Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CLAYHANGER PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1849) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1849-1913





Trinity Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  TRINITY PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1862) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1862-1892, 1938-1945





Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Penkridge Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/NortonunderCannock/index.html

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales &st=Norton%20Canes
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,161 times.