Norton County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norton County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Norton County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Norton County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Norton County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Norton
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Norton County Courthouse
101 S. Kansas Ave.
Norton, Kansas 67654-0070
Phone: 785.877.5720


Contents

County Courthouse

Norton County Courthouse
101 S Kansas Avenue
Norton, KS 67654-0070
Phone: 785.877.5710

Name changed to Billings 6 Mar 1873. Name changed back to Norton 19 Feb 1874
Clerk District Court has marriage and divorce records, and
probate court court records
Register of Deeds has land records from 1874
and some cemetery records. City Clerks have birth and death records. [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Norton County was created 26 February 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Norton [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksnorton.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Lenora Cemetery Association Index  may provide the following information of three cemeteries: Lenora East,  Lenora South, and Pairie Gem: 

  • Surname
  • Given Names
  • Birth Date
  • Death Date
  • Age
  • Inscription
  • Other Information
  • Photo

Norton County Kansas Cemeteries Index by the Norton County Genealogical Society has information on all  cemeteries, providing essentially the same information as above.

South Star Cemetery transcription gives directions to the cemetery and provides the essentially the same information as above. 

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Norton County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

Maps

Standard Atlas of Norton County, Kansas, 1917 published by George A. Ogle & Co., 1917. The atlas shows maps of each township with the names of landowners. It has a patrons' directory, and plats of towns as of the year of publication. Available on Kansas Memory.

Military

  • Norton County was not organized until after the Civil War.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Norton County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Norton and click Probate records.

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Norton County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:30.
  • This page has been accessed 2,755 times.