Norton FolgateEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to London go toLondon Parishes go to Norton Folgate

England  go to  Middlesex go to  Middlesex Parishes go to London go to London Parishes go to  Glasshouse Yard

Contents

Parish History

Norton Folgate, the street so-called is the north continuation of Bishopsgate Street Without, and extends to Shoreditch. It is also the name of a Liberty or manor, which belonged to the cathedral of St Paul as early as the Conquest. This district being extra-parochial, the inhaibtants support their own poor, and  ury and marry where they please, but they mostly use a chapel, built be Sir George Wheeler, a Prebendary of Durham, for his tenants in Spitalfields. I this liberty there are also a small workhouse, a girl's school, and a free school for boys.[1]


NORTON-FOLGATE, an extra-parochial liberty in Whitechapel district, Middlesex: within the metropolis, in the line of Ermine-street, at the end of Bishopsgate-street. The name was formerly written Northern-Foldgate.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed. 26 November 2013.


 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:12.
  • This page has been accessed 699 times.