Norwell, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Norwell, Nottinghamshire
Norwell St Laurence Nottinghamshire.jpg
Norwell St Laurence Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681
Bishop's Transcripts: 1635
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

NORWELL (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (N. by W.) from Newark with the chapelry of Carlton-upon-Trent, and the township of Norwell-Woodhouse. On the site of an ancient mansion called Preston Hall now stands a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists, built in 1827.[1]

Additional information:


Norwell St Laurence is an Ancient parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire close to the border with Lincolnshire and includes Norwell Woodhouse andNorwell with Willoughby..

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Norwell St Laurence

The Church of St Laurence has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also St Laurence Church Norwell Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norwell, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NORWELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Norwell St Lawrence Baptisms 1682-1933 M arriages1685-1901 B urials1684-1960 Bishop’s Transcripts 1635-1843

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Norwell

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Original Transcription by Martin, Sheila.  Copy of the Will of William Hancock 1794.  Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.SP 67/3.  Copy of the William Hancock 16 December 1794, Executors George Baines Norwell Woodhouse, with the following surnames in the Will - Parsons, How, Cullen, Fillingham, Warriner, Whitworth, White, Booth, Swallow, Wilson, Burgess, Robinson. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. vol. 119, pages 62-64, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 July 2014, at 17:29.
  • This page has been accessed 900 times.