Norwich All Saints, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich All Saints, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich All Saints, Norfolk
All Saints Westlegate Norwich.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich All Saints is an Ancient parish in the city and diocese of Norfolk.
All Saints' parish registers commence from the year 1573. It stood in the south extremity of Norwich City, about a quarter of a mile south of Norwich Cathedral, with St Stephens bordering on its north and northwest side, and St Michael at Thorn and St John de Sepulchre bordering on its east and southeast side (see the interactive Maps for further guidance as to all the parishes contiguous to All Saints.

All Saints became redundant in 1973. In 1979 it was leased by the Norwich Historic Churches Trust to the All Saints Centre.

NORWICH, acity and county of itself, locally in the hundred of Humbleyard, E. division of Norfolk, of which it is the capital, 108 miles (N. E. by N.) from London.[1]

Resources

Church Records

Norwich All Saints, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Norwich All Saints, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1771-1903
1739-1901
1739-1869
FS PRs Undefined 1573-1904 Undefined 1573-1901 Undefined 1573-1869
IGI 1573-1861 1575-1880
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 446-461. Date accessed: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,040 times.