Norwich Cathedral, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes


View and printout a Complete List of Norwich City Parishes, Chapels and District Churches
Norwich Cathedral, Norfolk
Norwich Cathedral, Norfolk.jpg
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Not Applicable PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697; For more records see Norwich St Mary in the Marsh
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich Cathedral is dedicated to the Holy and Undivided Trinity. Work began in 1096, and was completed by 1145. The Cathedral stands, within a close or precinct, about ¼ of a mile N E of the Castle, and about half that distance from the nearest part of the right bank of the river Wensum. It was founded, in 1096, by Bishop Herbert de Losinga; and was extended, embellished, altered, and repaired, by subsequent bishops and by wealthy families, till it attained completion solate as about 1500.

The pile, as it now stands, comprises a nave of fourteen bays with aisles, a transept of three bays in each wing, a central steeple, an apsidal sacristy on the N E side, a choir of four bays with aisles, an apsidal end, and a procession-path, three chapels on respectively the S side, the N E side, and the S E. The lady-chapel was 57¼ feet long and 36 1/3 feet wide.

The Beauchamp chapel, on the S side, is now the Consistory court; Jesus' chapel, on the N E side, is used by the Bishop; and St. Luke's chapel, on the S, is now used as the parish church of St. Mary-in-the-Marsh.

A bishop's chapel 130 feet by 30, of decorated English date, are in the palace gardens. The Cathedral precinct comprehends the Upper Close, the Lower Close, Life's Green, and 15½ acres of garden ground; forms the peculiar jurisdiction of the dean and chapter, together with the parish of St. Mary-in-the-Marsh; and communicates with the city through three gates, called the Erpingham, St. Ethelbert's, and St. Martin's. [1]

Further reading:


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norwich parish registers (various parishes) of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[10]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[13]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[14]
Norwich Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
Norwich Cathedral Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1697-1754
FREG 1697-1754 1703-1773
IGI 1702-1811 1697-1754
PALL 1607-1754
Norwich All Saints Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1771-1903
1739-1901
1739-1869
FS PRs Undefined 1573-1904 Undefined 1573-1901 Undefined 1573-1869
IGI 1573-1861 1575-1880
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Andrew Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1618, 1653-1880
1653-1901
1653-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1754, 1774-1935 Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1754, 1774-1960
IGI 1558-1812 1558-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

PALL
to 1650, 1780-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Augustine Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1663, 1669-1900
1663, 1668-1900
1663, 1669-1875
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1915 Undefined 1558-1875
IGI 1558-1875 1558-1875
JOIN
1813-1837

Norwich St Benedict Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1709-1900
1754-1906
1709-1877
FS PRs Undefined 1562-1902 Undefined 1562-1906 Undefined 1562-1877
IGI 1586-1812 1562-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Clement Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1663-1900
1663-1916
1638-1855
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1900 Undefined 1538-1823, 1837-1916 Undefined 1538-1812
IGI 1538-1875 1540-1870
JOIN
1813-1830

Norwich St Edmund Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1704-1884
1704-1895
1704-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1550-1900 Undefined 1754-1916 Undefined 1797-1856
IGI 1598-1875 1561-1870
JOIN
1754-1837

NTA 1813-1884
1754-1901 (Banns); 1754-1885
1813-1856
Norwich Cathedral, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1665-1900
1665-1900
1665-1857
FS PRs Undefined 1668-1911 Undefined 1668-1901 Undefined 1668-1858
IGI 1668-1875 1677-1885
JOIN
1755-1837

NTA
1755-1812

TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St George Colegate Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1707

FREG 1538-1922
1538-1901
1538-1644, 1653-1878
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1922 Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1878
IGI 1538-1875 1538-1870
JOIN
1728-1837

PALL
to 1650, 1813-1819

Norwich St George Tombland Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1734-1901
1538-1558, 1718-1901
1702-1945
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1945
IGI 1538-1840 1538-1837
JOIN
1538-1837

Norwich St Giles Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1812, 1829-1842
1538-1840
1538-1844
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1900 Undefined 1538-1900 Undefined 1538-1857
IGI 1538-1850 1540-1837
Norwich St Gregory Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1571-1903
1571-1902
1571-1913
FS PRs Undefined 1571-1903 Undefined 1571-1902 Undefined 1571-1913
IGI 1571-1812 1571-1813
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Helen Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1708-1842
1708-1836
1708-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1708-1842 Undefined 1708-1839 Undefined 1708-1856
IGI 1708-1841 1708-1836
Norwich St James Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1556-1905
1556-1911
1556-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1556-1623, 1684-1905 Undefined 1556-1623, 1684-1913 Undefined 1556-1623, 1684-1856
IGI 1556-1841 1556-1837
PRTS 1757-1812

1757-1784
Pockthorpe Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS ATs 1706-1812 1706-1812 1706-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
Norwich Cathedral, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1656-1664, 1694-1910
1656-1664, 1693-1900
1656-1664, 1693-1872
FS PRs Undefined 1632-1910 Undefined 1632-1901 Undefined 1632-1872
IGI 1632-1872 1632-1875
Norwich St John Maddermarket Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1557-1918
1557-1928
1557-1862
FS PRs Undefined 1557-1918 Undefined 1557-1928 Undefined 1557-1862
Norwich St John Timberhill Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1900
1559-1837
1559-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1901 Undefined 1559-1837 Undefined 1559-1856
IGI 1559-1875 1559-1837
Norwich St Julian Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1589-1900
1589-1902
1589-1883
FS PRs Undefined 1589-1901 Undefined 1589-1905 Undefined 1589-1883
IGI 1589-1812 1589-1753
Norwich St Lawrence Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1900
1559-1900
1558-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1902 Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1856
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Luke Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1721-1808
1722-1808
1723-1808
Norwich St Margaret Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1695-1904
1696-1904
1695-1865
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1909 Undefined 1559-1914 Undefined 1559-1856
JOIN
1696-1800

NTA 1695-1728
1696-1800
1695-1701
Norwich St Martin at Oak Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1764-1901
1754-1840
1764-1856, 1876
FS PRs Undefined 1560-1901 Undefined 1560-1907 Undefined 1560-1876
IGI 1560-1812 1568-1870
NTA 1813-1819


TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Martin at Palace Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1537-1599, 1698-1901
1537-1599, 1689-1908
1537-1599, 1697-1862
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1908 Undefined 1538-1862
IGI 1538-1855 1538-1837
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Mary Coslany Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1557-1812

FREG 1790-1812

1790-1812
FS PRs Undefined 1557-1942 Undefined 1557-1928 Undefined 1557-1856
IGI 1557-1812 1557-1753
JOIN
1557-1812

PALL
1790-1812

Norwich St Mary in the Marsh Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1812

FREG 1706-1812
1706-1812
1706-1812
FS ATs 1706-1812 1706-1812 1706-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1903 Undefined 1558-1919 Undefined 1558-1812
IGI 1591-1812 1602-1812
Norwich St Michael at Plea Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1700

FREG 1679-1902
1539-1662, 1752-1849
1813-1890
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1754, 1811-1902 Undefined 1538-1904 Undefined 1538-1754, 1811-1890
IGI 1538-1812 1539-1812
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Michael at Thorn Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1853
1813-1837
1813-1853
FS PRs Undefined 1833-1909
IGI 1608-1751 1608-1751
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Michael Coslany Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1902
1558-1963
1558-1861
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1903 Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1861
IGI 1558-1875 1558-1812
Norwich St Paul Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1614-1840
1615-1840
1614-1840
FS ATs 1706-1812 1706-1812 1706-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1614-1738, 1761-1812 1615-1738, 1754-1812
NBI

1614-1840
Norwich St Peter Hungate Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1597-1900
1597-1900

FS PRs Undefined 1597-1796, 1807-1901 Undefined 1597-1901 Undefined 1597-1855
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Peter Mancroft Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1900
1538-1898
1538-1880
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1890 Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1997
IGI 1538-1875 1558-1880
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Peter Parmentergate Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1895-1900

FREG 1784-1901
1754-1904

FS PRs Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1904 Undefined 1538-1883
IGI 1538-1867 1538-1884
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Peter Southgate Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1882
1754-1882
1813-1864
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1882 Undefined 1558-1883 Undefined 1558-1864
IGI 1558-1875 1625-1882
Norwich St Saviour Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1555-1708, 1813-1904
1837-1902
1813-1858
FS PRs Undefined 1555-1903 Undefined 1555-1902 Undefined 1555-1909
IGI 1555-1812 1555-1812
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Simon and St Jude Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1539-1893
1539-1641, 1658-1898
1678-1855
FS PRs Undefined 1539-1893 Undefined 1539-1894 Undefined 1539-1856
IGI 1539-1864 1539-1837
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Stephen Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1722

FREG 1538-1904
1538-1892
1538-1867
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1904 Undefined 1538-1900 Undefined 1538-1874
IGI 1538-1812 1538-1812
TIN 1813-1880


Norwich St Swithin Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1700-1909
1700-1914
1770-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1700-1909 Undefined 1700-1914 Undefined 1770-1856

The Family History Library has microfilmed or scanned and imaged by far the vast majority of Norfolk's original parish and chapelry registers, Bishop's transcripts, including Eccleston's above-mentioned registers.  These are available for ordering to and personally searching at any of the over 4,600 FamilySearch Centers available worldwide, or, searching and viewing at FamilySearch.org (click "Search").

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England London (1848). Date accessed: 27, Aug 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  7. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  9. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  10. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  11. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  13. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.
  14. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 03:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,373 times.