Norwich St Augustine, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Norwich St Augustine, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Augustine is an Ancient Parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

A medieval church It is probably named for St Augustine of Canterbury, who was sent to England by Gregory the Great in 597, although there is a possibility it may be named for Augustine of Hippo.

The orginal tower collapsed in 1677 and the redbrick tower built on the original base in the 1680's. Parishioners became known as the "Red Steeplers" from the distinct tower in the city.

the rest of the church is built of flint and has undergone internal renovation.

The parish was united with various neighboring ones – St Mary Coslany, St George Colegate – over the years, but was finally united with St Luke, Aylsham Road, before being declared redundant in 1997 and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co. town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail, 7472 ac., pop. 87,842; 4 Banks, 9 newspapers. Market-days, Wednesday and Saturday. Norwich is a city commanding especial interest on account of its ecclesiastical associations.[1]

Church Records

Norwich St Augustine, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
Norwich St Augustine, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1663, 1669-1900
1663, 1668-1900
1663, 1669-1875
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1915 Undefined 1558-1875
IGI 1558-1875 1558-1875
JOIN
1813-1837

Images of the parish register are available on FamilySearch Historical Records

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.



Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

•Vision of Britain

External Sites

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp


References:

  1. John Bartholomew,Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,164 times.