Norwich St Benedict, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norwich St Benedict

Guide to Norwich St Benedict, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Benedict, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History


Norwich St Benedict was one of the four mediaevalparish churches on St Benedict Street in the city.
All of them are redundant now; St Laurence is one of Norwich's biggest, St Gregory probably its most interesting, St Margaret is used for exhibitions and St Swithin is the excellent Norwich Arts Centre. But it is the most westerly, St Benedict, which  gives the street its name.


It once gave its name to a gate in the city walls, the remains of these are still visible at the end of St Benedict's street.


The church was destroyed one night in January 1942 as part of the German Baedecker bombing raid upon the city. The area beyond the street to the west was carpet-bombed by German planes, and the parish was almost entirely destroyed. All that remained of St Benedict was the shell of the aisle and the ancient round tower, standing tall and defiant. The ruined walls were removed in the 1950's and the tower alone hints at the presence of the church in an open grassed space between surrounding buildings.
St Benedict Street is a busy restauarant and bare quarter of modern Norwich.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Church records

Norwich St Benedict, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Norwich St Benedict, Norfolk Parish Online (1562) Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1709-1900
1754-1906
1709-1877
FS PRs Undefined 1562-1902 Undefined 1562-1906 Undefined 1562-1877
IGI 1586-1812 1562-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Images of the parish register are available on Family Search
In addition the FamilySearch Catalog lists the following transcript for the parish Parish register transcripts, 1607-1812. St. Benedict's Church (Norwich, Norfolk)

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials. BRITISH 993968 Item 1

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church

References:

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887.Date accessed: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,258 times.