Norwich St Clement, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Norwich St Clement, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Clement the Martyr is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

It is believed that there was a saxon church on the site from 1040 and it occupies a site close to Fye Bridge the river crossing of the major North South axis of the city formed by King Street and Magdalene Street.

The church closed in the 1960's as redundant and is now in use as a pastoral and counseling centre under the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust.

It contains the tomb of the parents of Matthew Parker, Archbishop of Canterbury (1559-1575) who lived in the parish. The only service which is now formally held in the church is the Parker service, which was commissioned by Matthew Parker, who left funds for the benefit of Corpus Christi College (Cambridge) subject to the annual service been held at St Clement. Parker, who became Archbishop of Canterbury in the reign of Elizabeth 1st, was educated by the rector of St Clements and in the South Churchyard is a box tomb inscribed to the memory of his parents. For his various "investigative activities" he was given the epithet "nosey parker" - a description still in use today! John Bartholomew, Bartholomew

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co. town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail, 7472 ac., pop. 87,842; 4 Banks, 9 newspapers. Market-days, Wednesday and Saturday. Norwich is a city commanding especial interest on account of its ecclesiastical.[1]

Church records

Norwich St Clement, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
Norwich St Clement, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1663-1900
1663-1916
1638-1855
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1900 Undefined 1538-1823, 1837-1916 Undefined 1538-1812
IGI 1538-1875 1540-1870
JOIN
1813-1830

Norfolk Record Office reference PD6/1-7, 9-14,20-21
Images of the parish register are available on FamilySearch Historical Records

The register for Baptisms 1887-1900 for Norwich St Edmund were included in the microfilming at the Norwich Record Office and the book is titled St Clement with St Edmund. St Edmund at this time had closed and parishioners appear to have attached to St Clements. There is a distinct way point for this volume of registers but the entries refer to St Clements until 1887 when St Edmund combines to form a combined register.

The way point to the baptisms and burial registers 1796-1812 has been found to contain a typographical error and this awaits futre correction by engineers the register ends in 1812 and not in 1862 as way pointed at present.

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions


Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.



Probate records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
•Vision of Britain

Websites

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

References:

  1. John Bartholomew, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887.Date accessed: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,239 times.