Norwich St Edmund, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Edmund, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Edmund, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1550
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Edmund, Fishergate is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

Built in the sixteenth century it underwent Victorian refurbishment before the end of the parish. From 1887 it's parishioners were united with neighboring parish of St Clement as seen in the combined register 1887-1900.

In 1913 the building was surrounded on three sides by a large fatory fire bu unharmed and for decades stood amidst wasteland. It suffered damaged in Second Worl War Bombing Raids on Norwich.

As a result of the 1960's recommendations about redundant churches in the city it now serves as a counseling centre within the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust. It was previously used as a let church by the new Frontiers Church.

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co.town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail, 7472 ac.[1]

Church records

Norwich St Edmund, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[6]
Norwich St Edmund, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1704-1884
1704-1895
1704-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1550-1900 Undefined 1754-1916 Undefined 1797-1856
IGI 1598-1875 1561-1870
JOIN
1754-1837

NTA 1813-1884
1754-1901 (Banns); 1754-1885
1813-1856

With its closure the parish was incorporated into Norwich St Clement, Norfolk

The register for Baptisms 1887-1900 for Norwich St Edmund were included in the microfilming at the Norwich Record Office and the book is titled St Clement with St Edmund. St Edmund at this time had closed and parishioners appear to have attached to St Clements. There is a distinct way point in the Record Search collection for this volume of registers but the entries refer to St Clements until 1887 when St Edmund combines to form a combined register.

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Probate records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

External Links

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historical photographs

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

References:

  1. John Bartholomew, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  6. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 October 2014, at 21:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,107 times.