Norwich St Etheldreda, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Etheldreda, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Etheldreda, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1665
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Ethelreda is a round towered Norman church whose bell tower has an octagonal top.

Following the sixteenth century Reformation, the church declined: in 1597 the chancel was described as being "greatly ruinous". By the late nineteenth century the church was dilapidated and all but redundant.

It was thatched until the roof and extensive Victorian remodelling took place in the 1880's but suffered further decline became derelict by the late 1960's and was declared redundant. In the care of the Norwich Historic church Trust it was adapted for use as an artist's studio space with modifications.

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co.town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail, 7472 ac.[1]

Church records

Norwich St Etheldreda, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Norwich St Etheldreda, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1665-1900
1665-1900
1665-1857
FS PRs Undefined 1668-1911 Undefined 1668-1901 Undefined 1668-1858
IGI 1668-1875 1677-1885
JOIN
1755-1837

NTA
1755-1812

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD4/1-6,8-10,13

Known Issues

Images of the parish register for this parish are available on FamilySearch but appear under Norwich St Etheldred and several waypoints await engineering correction.

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Probate records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851•Vision of Britain

External Links

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

References:

  1. John Bartholomew. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  6. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 October 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,262 times.