Norwich St John Maddermarket, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Norwich St John Maddermarket, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Norwich PLU|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Norwich St John Maddermarket is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.
This church site may the site of the Holy Trinity church referred to in the Domesday book.
The present church dates from the fifteenth century and is dedicated to St John the Baptist.
The church became redundant and is now in the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Churches Conservation Trust. It remains a deicated church and holds periodic services each year. Previously it housed the Norwich Greek Orthodox church.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Norwich St John Maddermarket, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Norwich St John Maddermarket, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the churchhttp://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp Norwich Historic Churches Trust
<ref>tags exist, but no
<references/>tag was found
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 02:26.
- This page has been accessed 1,806 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News