Norwich St John Timberhill, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk
St John the baptist Timberhill contributor Pierre Terre.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St John the Baptist Timberhill is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

The church site was originally outside the Castle Bailey. The fourteenth century church lost its tower in a collapse in 1784 and was replaced first by a wooden bell frame and in 1877 by a stone turret.

The church fell into dilapidation until in the 1860's it was restored and internal resoration established a Victorian interior.

It was restored further by the Norwich Historic Churches Trust and serves again as a parish church with a congregation in the heart of the city and together with St Julian forms an inner city parish in modern Norwich.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Norwich

Church records

Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1900
1559-1837
1559-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1901 Undefined 1559-1837 Undefined 1559-1856
IGI 1559-1875 1559-1837
Content
Film
Baptisms 1559-1900 Marriages 1559-1837 Burials 1559-1856 Banns 1754-1823
FHL BRITISH Film
1657263 Items 9-18

Known Issues

This parish has been incorrectly way pointed as Norwich St Timberhill due to a typographical error which awaits engineering correction in future. The historical records collection on Familysearch contains microfilm conversion from the  1992 filming of Parish registers, 1559-1900 Norwich Record Office reference PD74/ 1-10

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union 


See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church
Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,485 times.