Norwich St John de Sepulchre, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Norwich St John de Sepulchre, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NorwichSt John Sepulchre, or St John the Baptist and the Consecration of the Holy Sepulchre is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

NORWICH, a city and county of itself, locally in the hundred of Humbleyard, E. division of Norfolk,[1]

Resources

Church Records

Norwich St John de Sepulchre, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Norwich St John de Sepulchre, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1656-1664, 1694-1910
1656-1664, 1693-1900
1656-1664, 1693-1872
FS PRs Undefined 1632-1910 Undefined 1632-1901 Undefined 1632-1872
IGI 1632-1872 1632-1875

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be seachd online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.



Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
•Vision of Britain

External Sites

References:

  1. of which it is the capital, 108 miles (N. E. by N.) from London.<ref> Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 446-461.</ref><br&gt. Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
For historic photographs of this church and features http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 02:20.
  • This page has been accessed 951 times.