Norwich St Julian, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norwich St Julian, Norfolk
Norwich St Julian.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1589
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

Norwich St Julian has an international reputation, as it was here that Dame Julian of Norwich lived in the later 14th century.

The building as it now stands dates almost entirely from 1953, when it was rebuilt after suffering a direct hit from a bomb in 1942. The church was also reconsecrated in 1953.It was re-established as a place of prayer by the Anglican Sister of All Hallows, Ditchingham.

There is good reason to believe that a church has stood here since Anglo-Saxon times, although whether the destroyed building was of Saxon date, or Saxon workmanship but post-1066, is difficult to decide.

St Julian is within the modern parish of St John the Baptist Timberhill.

Church Records

Norwich St Julian, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Norwich St Julian, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1589-1900
1589-1902
1589-1883
FS PRs Undefined 1589-1901 Undefined 1589-1905 Undefined 1589-1883
IGI 1589-1812 1589-1753

Images of the parish register are available on FamilySearch Historical Records.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.



Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

External Links

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the former church prior to destruction

Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 19:11.
  • This page has been accessed 921 times.