Norwich St Martin at Oak, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Martin at Oak, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records

Norwich St Martin at Oak, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Martin at Oak is an Ancient Parish in the city and Diocese of Norfolk and takes its name from the oak tree that used to stand in the churchyard and which, in the Middle Ages, housed an image of the Virgin Mary.
The church was effectively destroyed in 1942 in bombing of the city and was subsequently restored.

In the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust it was used first as a homeless person's night shelter and now provides an exhibition space which makes it a perfect venue for the Norfolk Open Studio Event (part of the annual Norfolk & Norwich Festival) encouraging visitors to see both the exhibits & the church.  It is also used as studio by working artists.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Norwich

Church records

Norwich St Martin at Oak, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Norwich St Martin at Oak, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1764-1901
1754-1840
1764-1856, 1876
FS PRs Undefined 1560-1901 Undefined 1560-1907 Undefined 1560-1876
IGI 1560-1812 1568-1870
NTA 1813-1819


TIN 1813-1880

Norfolk Record Office reference PD15 / 1-2, 14-22

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

References

  1. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  2. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  4. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,241 times.