Norwich St Martin at Palace, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norwich St Martin at Palace, Norfolk
St Martin at Palace Plain Norwich.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

Norwich St Martin at Palace is an Ancient Parish mentioned in the Domesday survey. It was declared redundant and became the Norwich Probation Centre in 1990.

"It is thought that, in early days, merchant ships berthed on the south side of the reiver near to the site of St Martin's church. Their cargo was unloaded onto a gravel terrace called a 'bychel', a large open area which was considerably more attractive in the Georgian period."[1]

Today it is used as offices for Probation services. All the gravestones are gone from the churchyard - those surviving are propped against the back of the church. The western end of the graveyard is now under road.[2]

Church Records

Norwich St Martin at Palace, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Norwich St Martin at Palace, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1537-1599, 1698-1901
1537-1599, 1689-1908
1537-1599, 1697-1862
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1908 Undefined 1538-1862
IGI 1538-1855 1538-1837
TIN 1813-1880


Census Records

St Martin at Palace Back view with tombstones in 2013.jpg


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.



Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

Websites


Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 July 2014, at 01:05.
  • This page has been accessed 884 times.