Norwich St Michael at Plea, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Michael at Plea, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Michael at Plea, Norfolk
St Michael at Plea Norwich .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Michael at Plea is an Ancient Parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich. "The church of St-Michael-at-Plea, once called St Michael at Notstone, is so called because the Archdeacon of Norwich held his pleas, or courts, in the building. The lords of the manor of Sprowston and Horsford were patrons of the church."[1]

One of the early mayors of Norwich, Richard Ferrer was buried in this church in 1616.[2]

In 1887 the parish church was in poor condition and a major restoration was undertaken. During the process a couple of paintings from the 14th Century were discovered and the graveyard was leveled and grass planted.[3] The church is in the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust and is in use as a bookshop, Christian Resource Centre and Café. A few decaying gravestones are found propped against the back corners of the buiding.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norwich St Michael at Plea, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Norwich St Michael at Plea, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1700

FREG 1679-1902
1539-1662, 1752-1849
1813-1890
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1754, 1811-1902 Undefined 1538-1904 Undefined 1538-1754, 1811-1890
IGI 1538-1812 1539-1812
TIN 1813-1880


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Union

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church.

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,606 times.