Norwich St Michael at Thorn, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Michael at Thorn, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Michael at Thorn, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Michael at Thorn was an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

It was destroyed by bombing in 1942.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norwich St Michael at Thorn, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[4]
Norwich St Michael at Thorn, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1853
1813-1837
1813-1853
FS PRs Undefined 1833-1909
IGI 1608-1751 1608-1751
TIN 1813-1880


The registers of the church were destroyed in 1942, the surviving banns book for 1833-1903 is deposited at Norfolk Record Office reference PD74 (St Michael in Thorn) and images appear in FamilySearch.

A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication

Content
Film
Archdeacon's transcripts, 1608-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1305939

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Union

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

 http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church before demolition after World War bombing

Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,168 times.