Norwich St Paul, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norwich St Paul
Norwich St Paul, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Paul used to be an ancient medieval round tower church within the city of Norwich and diocese of Norwich.

"St. Margaret’s, in Fyebridge, was a church of ancient foundation, situated on the west side of Magdalen Street, near the gate. There is no account how long it has been dissolved. The parish is now [1869] united with St. Paul’s."[1]

"W. H. Claxton in Record of Local Events in Norwcich, From 575 to 1904 gave its date of building as 'cica 1450.' A church had occupied the site for at least three centuries when the rebuilding took place. It had served not only the parish but also a monastic hospital for the poor and needy which had been established nearby during the first half of the twelfth century."

"In R. H. Mottram's book If Stones Could Speak he said that St Paul's Square was rebuilt by special Act of Parliament in the 1860s because the area had become 'dilapidated, verminous, disgraceful.' "More building improventment continued in various decades until, by 1920 the church was photographed. There are also surviving photographs from the 1930s.

It was gutted by fire from incendiary bombs "during the early hours of 27th of June 1942. For ten years it stood a roofless ruin until  the remains were demolished" in the 1950s (despite pleas for the tower to be preserved) to form part of the City Ring Road and the Barrack Street roundabout. Today the corner of St Paul's churchyard is now a children's playground.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Norwich

Church records

Norwich St Paul, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
Norwich St Paul, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1614-1840
1615-1840
1614-1840
FS ATs 1706-1812 1706-1812 1706-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1614-1738, 1761-1812 1615-1738, 1754-1812
NBI

1614-1840

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This parish does not appear on FamilySearch Historical Records and the loading of images is a known issue awaiting engineering. A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Parish Registers are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication.

Parish registers for St. Paul's Church, Norwich, 1614-1943 Norfolk Record Office reference PD73/1-2 Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1614-1738, 1761-1771, 1783-1812. Burials, 1614-1738, 1761-1812. Marriages, 1614-1738, 1754-1812. BRITISH 1305938
Marriages 1901-1911, 1926-1943. BRITISH 993605 Items 1-2
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

FreeCen does not have Norfolk County census transcriptions for 1841 as of 7 Aug 2013.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A. D. Bayne, Comprehensive History of Norwich Jarrold and Sons, 12, Paternoster Row, London.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,985 times.