Norwich St Peter Parmentergate, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Peter Parmentergate, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Peter Parmentergate, Norfolk
Norwich St Peter Parmentergate.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

Norwich St Peter Parmentergate is an Ancient Parish Church and was presented by Roger Bigod to the Cathedral Priory in the late eleventh century. In the fifteenth century it was completely rebuilt, financed by the prosperity of its location on a main route through the city, close to the merchants' quays. St Peter Parmentergate became redundant in 1981. From 1994 the vestry has been leased by the Norwich Historic Churches Trust to the Magdalene Group for their work with prostitutes. In 2005, after being empty for some time, the main church building became the Norwich Centre for Martial Arts.

Also known as St Peter Mountergate.

Church Records

Norwich St Peter Parmentergate, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Norwich St Peter Parmentergate, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1895-1900

FREG 1784-1901
1754-1904

FS PRs Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1904 Undefined 1538-1883
IGI 1538-1867 1538-1884
TIN 1813-1880

Known Issues

There is an error in the parish name which has been reported to engineers for future correction. The images display correctly for the parish and the parish name will be corrected in the future.

Census Records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

For Historic photographs and history http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,527 times.