Norwich St Simon and St Jude, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Simon and St Jude, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Simon and St Jude, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Simon and St Jude is an Ancient parish in the city.

The twin dedication of St Simon and St Jude is to two Apostles who, according to some accounts, preached the gospel in Persia and were martyred. A church almost certainly stood on this site before the Norman Conquest of 1066.


After becoming redundant, the church was used by the Scouts until 1997. It is in the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust.


There are places of worship in the city forBaptists, the Society of Friends,Independents, Wesleyans, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, andUnitarians; a synagogue; and two chapels belonging to theRoman Catholics, one of which is an elegant edifice.[1]

Church Records

Norwich St Simon and St Jude, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Norwich St Simon and St Jude, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1539-1893
1539-1641, 1658-1898
1678-1855
FS PRs Undefined 1539-1893 Undefined 1539-1894 Undefined 1539-1856
IGI 1539-1864 1539-1837
TIN 1813-1880

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

References:

  1. Samuel A. Lewis., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 446-461. Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
England Jurisdictions 1851

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,109 times.