Norwich St Stephen, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Stephen, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Stephen, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co.town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail. Norwich St Stephen is an Ancient parish in the city and has parts of the building which preceded the Reformation.[1]

The present Church is Medieval. The tower and side walls are the oldest parts of the building. They date back to the middle of the 14th century. By 1500 the central part of the Church became unsafe. The chancel was rebuilt before the Reformation, and the nave was completed after it, in 1550.

It contains many monuments for leading figures in the city history over centuries.

Church Records

Norwich St Stephen, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Norwich St Stephen, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1722

FREG 1538-1904
1538-1892
1538-1867
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1904 Undefined 1538-1900 Undefined 1538-1874
IGI 1538-1812 1538-1812
TIN 1813-1880

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887.Date accessed: 3 october 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 934 times.