Norwich St Swithin, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Swithin, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwich St Swithin, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1700
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co. town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail.[1]

St Benedict Street has four medieval churches, and there are three more on adjacent Pottergate, so it is no surprise that some of them are surplus to requirements; in fact, all seven are now redundant. St Swithin is one of the smallest, but it was already derelict in the 19th century. The tall, elegant tower, with the porch built directly into its south side, was taken down as unsafe in the 1880s, and the church was closed shortly afterwards, It underwent subsequent restoration but couldn't last, and by the Second World War St Swithin was redundant again. It escaped the blitz, despite nearby St Benedict being destroyed. After the war, as with many Norwich churches, St Swithin was left to rot, being used as a furniture warehouse, until it was born again in the 1980s as the Norwich Arts Centre.

Church Records

Norwich St Swithin, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Norwich St Swithin, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1700-1909
1700-1914
1770-1856
FS PRs Undefined 1700-1909 Undefined 1700-1914 Undefined 1770-1856

Due to the proximity of St Margaret's and the fortune of St Swithin's church over centuries the parishes were amalgamated for the purpose of record keeping. It is necessary to view the Norwich St Margaret, Norfolk images on FamilySearch to view the records of St Margaret with St Swithin.

The arrangement of parish registers at Norfolk Record Office is a separate register series for each parish.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

  • Norwich Ordnance Survey Map (Incl 1838, 1898-1899, 1922 and present day). www.cassinimaps.com

External Links

For description and historic photographs of St Benedict Street and it's churches http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles1887.Date accessed:3 October 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 25 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:23.
  • This page has been accessed 894 times.