Norwood, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Norwood, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norwood, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Uxbridge PLU
Registration District Uxbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671-74; 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORWOOD, a precinct and parochial chapelry, in the union of Uxbridge, hundred of Elthorne, county of Middlesex, 2½ miles (N. by W.) from Hounslow with the hamlet of Southall, and part of North Hyde hamlet. The chapel has been enlarged. A district church, dedicated to St. John, was erected at Southall in 1839.[1]

Norwood, a village, a precinct, and a chapelry (by at least 1654) in Hayes Parish, Middlesex, 3 miles west by northwest of Brentford. The precinct contains also the hamlets of Norwood-Green, Southall, and Southall-Green, and part of the hamlet of North Hyde. The chapelry of Norwood comprises all the precinct except the minor part, which forms the chapelry of Southall.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Norwood Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1654
1654
1654
Images
1654-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1755-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1952 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1721-1812 BritishOrigins[7] 1654-1837 findmypast[8] 1654-1812 BritishOrigins[9]
Unknown findmypast[10] 1654-1837 BritishOrigins[11]
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[12]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438773.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Southall Manor (1511-1929) in Norwood Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Norwood in Hayes on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England , (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 February 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 February 2014.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary the Virgin, Norwood Green in Ealing Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Norwood Green St Mary the Virgin in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Norwood Green St Mary the Virgin in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Norwood Green St Mary the Virgin in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  8. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  9. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  10. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  11. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  12. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 2,809 times.