Nottingham St James, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Nottingham St James, Nottinghamshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nottingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Nottingham PLU
Registration District Nottingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1858
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Nottingham, St. James, is the liberty of St. James, which is extraparochial. St. James' church or chapel, on Standard Hill, was erected in 1808. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Sabellians, and Unitarians; a synagogue; and a Roman Catholic cathedral. This last edifice is dedicated to St. Barnabas.[1]

Additional information:

NOTTINGHAM, a borough and market-town, forming a union and county of itself, locally in the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, of which it is the chief town.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Nottingham St James

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474569.

See Nottinghamshire Census

All at Sea 1861 Census.  This article is an Alpabetical listing of surname, given name, age, Condition, Occupation, Place of Birth, Name of Ship and Reference number, for people born in Nottinghamshire, and either on a ship in port or at sea.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 99, pages 1- 7, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n,

All at Sea 1881 Census, same as the above, pages 8-15, with notes on the Ships at the end of the article.

Nottingham City Rentals

Transcribed by Walker, V.W.  The Nottingham Chamberlains' Accounts, 1772-73.  A list of the Chamberlains Rentalls from 1772-1773, with persons name, and the property and the rental amount.  There is also a list of folk who owned Butcher's shops in the Shambles. This list is available at the Nottinghamshire Archives, and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.123, pages1-27. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Transcribed by Simpson, Elizabeth.  Schedule of Tenants 1804, Nottingham.  A list of tenants, given name, surname, premises occupied by them, and the rent to be paid.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 53, pages 55-59, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n 

Poor Law Unions

Nottingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

SCHOOLS
  • Register of Boys Awaiting Admission to the Free School (Now the Nottingham High School 1806-1834. Formerly at Stoney St. now at Waverley St.  A register of the boys waiting admission to the free school, alphabetical listing within each year from 1806-1834, giving the pupil's name, the father's name, and sometimes the address.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 88, pages 6-15, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
  • Plan of the Town of Nottingham, dated 1844.  The map includes all the new Streets and every recent alteration, dated 1844.  Map to be found  inside the back cover of the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 83, part 7, Family History Library 942.52 D25n

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 September 2014, at 15:31.
  • This page has been accessed 723 times.