Nottingham St Peter, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Nottingham St Peter, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Nottingham St Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nottingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Nottingham PLU
Registration District Nottingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Nottingham St Peter is one of the three original Ancient Parishes in the City of Nottingham (along with Nottingham St Mary the Virgin, Nottinghamshire and Nottingham St James, Nottinghamshire). The parish boundary included The Park, a residential development in the former deer park and Castle and Nottingham St Peter Exchange ward in the City.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the church history Nottingham St Peter with St James The former parish of Nottingham St James, Nottinghamshire united in 1933 to form the benefice.

The church of St Peter or St Peter's Gate church of St Peter as it used to be known has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also:

Nottingham St Peter Wikipedia and Nottingham Wikipedia

NOTTINGHAM, a borough and market-town, forming a union and county of itself, locally in the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, of which it is the chief town. The town comprises the parishes of St. Mary, St. Nicholas, and St. Peter. The living of St. Peter's is a discharged rectory. There are places of worship for Baptists', 'Independents', 'Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Sabellians, and Unitarians; a synagogue; and a Roman Catholic cathedral. This last edifice is dedicated to St. Barnabas.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nottingham St Peter, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NOTTINGHAM ST PETER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1825


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Nottingham St Peter ( also St Peter and St James Radford burial records) Baptisms 1572-1949 Marriages 1572-1937 Burials 1572-1880 Bishop’s transcripts 1601-1835 Nottingham St Peter and St James Marriages 1937-1953
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Nottingham St Peter

Nottingham Marriages in the Three Parishes, St Mary, St. Peter, and St Nicholas. dated from 1813-1837. Gives males names, in 3 sections, A-F, G-N, O-Z, surname, given name, and bride's name on the right, church,and the year. Female section in Part 4, gives surname, and relevant page, where to be found, Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 23, pages 1-197, Part 4, page 198-226, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474570.

See Nottinghamshire Census

All at Sea 1861 Census. This article is an Alpabetical listing of surname, given name, age, Condition, Occupation, Place of Birth, Name of Ship and Reference number, for people born in Nottinghamshire, and either on a ship in port or at sea. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 99, pages 1- 7, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n,

All at Sea 1881 Census, same as the above, pages 8-15, with notes on the Ships at the end of the article.

Poor Law Unions

Nottingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham Union Workhouse. Admissions and Discharges Register 1 November 1856 to 11 December 1858. A picture of the Workhouse, and an 1861 map of Nottingham, reproduced with permission of the Nottinghamshire County Council, and an Admission and Discharge Register, which gives the year, date, surname, forename and age, with an alphabetical listing at the end. Article also includes an Index of Births as having occurred in the Workhouse, extracted from the Admissions Register, dated 1 November 1856-11 December 1858. Article is to be found in Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PUO 2/1/1 and also the transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.101, pages 1-92, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

  • England Jurisdictions 1851
  • Vision of Britain
  • Plan of the Town of Nottingham, dated 1844. The map includes all the new Streets and every recent alteration, dated 1844. Map to be found inside the back cover of the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 83, part 7, Family History Library 942.52 D25n

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 446-461. Adapted,date accessed: 4 October 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 September 2014, at 15:42.
  • This page has been accessed 943 times.