NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
| News & Events |
| **Please add upcoming genealogical news and events.** |
| Topics |
|
Key topics to get started: Other topics:
|
| Did You Know? |
| **Please add items of interest.** |
Nottinghamshire (abbreviated Notts) is a county in the East Midlands of England.
Contents |
Featured Content
"NOTTINGHAMSHIRE or Notts, a midland county; bounded, on the N W, by Yorkshire; on the N E and the E, by Lincolnshire; on the S E and the S, by Leicestershire; on the W, by Derbyshire... Its greatest length, from N to S, is 50 miles; its greatest breadth, from E to W, is 27 miles; its circuit is about 150 miles; and its area is 526,076 acres...
" Notts contains 209 parishes, parts of 2 others, and 14 extra-parochial places...
"The places of worship within the electoral county, in 1851, were 248 of the Church of England, 21 of Independents, 14 of Particular Baptists, 14 of General Baptists, 23 of New Connexion General Baptists, 1 of Scotch Baptists, 2 of Baptists undefined, 3 of Quakers, 2 of Unitarians, 160 of Wesleyan Methodists, 15 of New Connexion Methodists, 78 of Primitive Methodists, 8 of the Wesleyan Association, 8 of Wesleyan Reformers, 4 of Independent Methodists, 1 of the New Church, 10 of isolated congregations, 1 of the Catholic and Apostolic church, 11 of Latter Day Saints, 5 of Roman Catholics, and 1 of Jews...
"Population in 1801 was 140,350; in 1821, 186,873; in 1841, 249,910; and in 1861, 293,867..."
The above extract comes from: John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). To see the full account, go to Vision of Britain.
Research Tools
- A list of the parish registers held by the Nottingham Archives is online.
- A list of the Non Conformists records held by the Nottingham Archives is online.
Jurisdictions
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Nottinghamshire.
Civil Districts
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Nottinghamshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Nottinghamshire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.
Parishes
See a list of parishes of Nottinghamshire with links to articles.
Probate Jurisdictions
Before 1858, every town and parish in Nottinghamshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Nottinghamshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records.
Websites
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Nottinghamshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
|
Yorkshire |
| ||
| Derbyshire | |
Lincolnshire | ||
| | ||||
| | ||||
| Leicestershire |
| ||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 November 2012, at 04:40.
- This page has been accessed 3,860 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

