Nova Scotia CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Canada Gotoarrow.png Nova Scotia Gotoarrow.png Census

The Nova Scotia census records before 1703 are helpful in providing a deceased person's name, age, and relatives. The census records from 1703 to 1861 list only the head of each household, with a few exceptions.

Census records beginning in 1871 are national censuses taken by the federal government. Most national censuses have been indexed. Indexes and links to them are listed at the Library and Archives Canada web site.

1851-1921 Online Canadian Indexes and Images   

Online National and Provincial Population Schedules of Canada
  Free  Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)*  Pay
Family
Search[1]
 
Automated Genealogy[2]  Library Archives Canada[2]  Ancestry FHL[3]  Ancestry Library[3]  Ancestry Home[3]
1921 available after 1 Jun 2013  indexes  -
images  -
1911  indexes  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
1901 indexes Link  Link  Link Link Link Link
images Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
1891  indexes Link  Link Link Link Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link
1881  indexes  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link
1871  indexes  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link
1861 Provincial  indexes  Link Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link
1851/52  indexes  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
images  Link  Link  Link  Link  Link
   Family Search  Automated Genealogy  Library Archives Canada  Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home
Free  Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)  Pay




 


The more useful local censuses are listed below:

  • 1671 Acadia: lists names, ages, and places of origin.
  • 1686 Acadia: lists names, ages, and animals.
  • 1693 Acadia: lists names, ages, and animals.
  • 1698 Acadia: lists names, ages, and animals.
  • 1701 Acadia: lists names, ages, and animals.
  • 1752 Ile Royal: lists names, ages, and places of origin.
  • 1752 Halifax: lists head of household.
  • 1770 Many counties: lists head of household. This census has been published in:
Richard, Bernice C., Nova Scotia 1770 Census, Some 1773 and 1787 . . . Chicago: Chicago Genealogical Society, 1972. (Family History Library book 971.6 A1 #18 film 962273 item 10 )
  • 1817 A few counties: lists head of household.
  • 1818 Part of Cape Brenton Island.
  • 1827 Many counties: lists head of household. It has been published.
  • 1838 Most of the province: lists head of household.
  • 1851 Only Kings, Halifax, and Pictou counties: lists head of household. An index has been published for Kings, Halifax counties (Family History Library book 971.6 X22n; ). There is also an index for Pictou county (Family History Library book 971.613 X29p).
  • 1871,1881 Whole province: lists all household members. The census gives each person's name, sex, age, country or province of birth, religion, occupation, and marital status. (1871 is incomplete for Shelburne County.)
  • 1891 Whole province: Lists all household members. The census lists each person's name, sex, age, marital status, relation to head of family, country or province of birth, French-Canadian descendency, place of birth of father, place of birth of mother, religion, and occupation.
  • 1901 Whole province: Lists all household members. The census lists each person's name, sex, color, relation to head of family, marital status, date of birth, country or province of birth, age at census, year of immigration to Canada, year of naturalization, nationality, religion, occupation, and native language.
  • 1911 Whole province: Lists all household members. The census lists each person's name, sex, relation to head of family, marital status, month and year of birth, age at census, country or province of birth, year of immigration to Canada, year of naturalization, racial or tribal origin, nationality, religion, and occupation.
  • 1921-Present: Censuses from 1921 to the present are not available to the public.

A source for early census records is:

Trahan, Charles C., Acadian Census, 1671–1752. Rayne, La.: Hebert Publications, 1994. (Family History Library book 971.5 X2t) Acadia covered what is now Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island.

 
Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2013, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 4,778 times.