Nova Scotia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Canada Gotoarrow.png Nova Scotia Gotoarrow.png Genealogy

The Public Archives of Nova Scotia has a large collection of published family and local histories. Manuscript Group 1, "Papers of Families and Individuals," can be very helpful. This section consists of manuscript sources such as Bible entries, notes, family journals, personal correspondence, papers, and documents for residents of Nova Scotia. The Public Archives of Nova Scotia has published the following report concerning these and other manuscript sources:

  • Inventory of Manuscripts in the Public Archives of Nova Scotia. Halifax: The Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1976. 2 vols. in 1. (Family History Library book 971.6 A5P; film 1036635 item 2)

A recent index to many published biographies, cemetery records, census records (through 1881), church records, directories, family histories, genealogies, immigration lists, local histories, Loyalist listings, marriage records, periodicals, probate records, and vital records in newspapers is:

  • Elliot, Noel Montgomery, ed. The Atlantic Canadians, 1600–1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates. 3 vols. Toronto: Genealogical Research Library, 1994. (FHL book Ref area 971.5 D22a) Indexes over 500,000 names from various sources for the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Labrador, and Prince Edward Island. Sources are listed at the end of each volume.
  • Punch, Terrence M. Eight Emigrant Irishmen.  8 emigrant irishmen who made Nova Scotia their home.  Genealogies of the following  from Cochran - Northern Ireland, Walsh and Ellis - Co. Tipperary and Cavan.  Gaul & Power - Kilkenny and Waterford. Henry of Newry, Co. Down, Kenny of Co. Kerry, Keville of Co. Leitrim, May - Co. Longford, Sullivan - Co. Wicklow.  covers years 1765-1944, article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.III,no.2, 1971, pages 107-120. Family History Book Ref. 941.5 B2i

Writing and Sharing Your Family History

Sharing your own family history is valuable for several reasons:

  • It helps you see gaps in your own research and raises opportunities to find new information.
  • It helps other researchers progress in researching ancestors you share in common.
  • It draws other researchers to you who already have information about your family that you do not yet possess.
  • It draws together researchers with common interests, sparking collaboration opportunities. For instance, researchers in various localities might choose to do lookups for each other in remote repositories. Your readers may also share photos of your ancestors that you have never seen before.
See also:

 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 September 2011, at 00:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,342 times.